What Is My Monthly Payment?

orange county bail bonds

Once people figure out what the initial cost of their loved one’s bail bond will be, they want to know how much the monthly payments will cost. Unfortunately, much like figuring out the initial cost of the bail bond, figuring out monthly payments requires a lot of information. This makes it hard to give people a real answer without having any case information.

There are different factors that play into the size of the monthly payments.

Size of the bail bond
Size of the initial payment
Length of the payment plan

These variables all factor into determining how much the monthly payments for the bail bond will be. If more money is paid up front, the monthly payments will be less, and vice versa. Larger bail bonds tend to have bigger monthly payments since more money needs to be paid. If the payment plan is meant for 2 years, it will have larger payments than a plan for the same bond meant for 4 years.

It is important to beware of bail bond companies that say they will give you a payment plan that costs $49 a month. Think about it, if you are going to try to pay off a bail bond at that price, you will be working at it for a decade or longer. On top of that, bail bond companies that offer this may make up for the smaller monthly payments by requiring a larger initial payment.

At Absolute Bail Bond Store, we wish we could give our clients a better answer for the size of their monthly payments without having any information, but there are too many variables. For a more definitive answer, fell free to talk to one of our bail agents. They will be more than happy to talk to you about monthly payment plans.

How to Handle a Warrant

orange county bail bonds

If you are like most people, then you have probably never needed to deal with a warrant. Unfortunately, there may come a time when you have to do just that. As much as many people would prefer to never think of something like this happening to them, they should. It helps to be prepared after all.

When you find out that a warrant has been issued for your arrest, the mature responsible thing to do is to turn yourself in to the authorities. This can easily be done by walking into the local law enforcement agency, and talking to one of the officers there.

However, before you turn yourself in, be sure to contact the professionals here at Absolute Bail Bond Store. We can work with you to get a bail bond ready to go. We will fill out as much of the paperwork as we can beforehand. This way, you can be bailed out of jail as soon as the booking process is complete.

If you think that there might be a warrant out for your arrest, but are unsure, you can talk to Absolute Bail Bond Store as well. We provide free warrant checks for anyone that needs one. We will help you to the best of our abilities. We can check for warrants in several California counties. Unfortunately, we cannot check in all counties. This is due to the fact that some counties require warrant checks to be done in person.

Even if we cannot check for a warrant in the county where you think the warrant was issued, we can still help you. We can tell you how to check for yourself, and try to get a bail bond ready to go in case there is a warrant for your arrest.

Falsely Reporting a Crime

orange county bail bonds

Just like it is a crime to falsely dial 9-1-1, it is also a crime to falsely report a crime in California. It is one thing to be innocently mistaken that a crime is taking, has taken, or is about to take place. In this case, the person reporting the false crime may not be charged because they were misled. However, it is another thing to purposely report a crime that you know for a fact never happened.

There are many reasons a person would want to falsely report a crime, including getting revenge on someone they are mad at, to scare someone or make them feel threatened, to do a prank, or trying to make a profit from another individual because of a fake kidnapping, for instance.

Anyone who falsely reports a crime to the police, the grand jury, a prosecutor, and 9-1-1 operators can be charged with a misdemeanor. If the charge ends up with a conviction, the person will pay up to a $1,000 fine and spend up to 6 months in jail. When deciding what the exact punishment will be, the judge will consider if and how others were affected by the false report, whether they have a prior criminal history, and their intentions behind filing the false report.

As with any situation, each false report will be treated differently. Some are given more leeway than others, depending on the circumstances. All reports of crime are taken seriously to start out, but if it turns out to be a false report, then that is where problems for the person who made the report begin to arise. By investigating the false report, police exhaust their energy, resources, and time when they could have been attending to more serious situations and helping others who really are in need of assistance. A person who purposely delays real emergencies will be punished.

Road Trip Checklist

orange county bail bonds

Summer is the perfect time to take a road trip with friends. It is vacation season and the weather is perfect for you to drive your convertible with the wind blowing in your hair. Whether you have a destination in mind or you prefer to just drive, make sure you have packed your essentials such as sunglasses, sunblock, swim suits, and have your driving playlist ready. Before you get on the road, make sure to do a safety check of your vehicle.

Check that all exterior lights of the car work properly: head lights, tail lights, brake lights, signal lights, and high beams.
Make sure your horn is working, and loud for others to hear.
All passengers need to be wearing a seatbelt. Make sure those function properly.
Hopefully it will not rain, but in case it does, you will want your windshield wipers working.
Take a look at your tires. Do they need air? Are the treads good to withstand your road trip? Take a spare tire with you as well.
Open up the hood of your car and fill up the fluids.
Get your brakes checked and make sure they are good to go.

By making sure your car is road trip-ready, you are taking extra precautions to avoid accidents. In addition, you could also be saving yourself from being pulled over and ticketed. A few extra minutes to look over your car can save you thousands of dollars, if you really think about it.

If you think you will be driving across state borders, keep in mind that driving rules might not be the same. For example, you might not be allowed to make a right on a red light or you might not be allowed to pump your own gas at a gas station and instead, a store clerk is supposed to do this for you. Overall, drive with safety in mind, as you would anywhere, because getting ticketed, pulled over, into an accident, or arrested is a cost no one wants to worry about having to deal with, especially out-of-state.

Underage Drinking, No Exceptions

orange county bail bonds

Even if it happens under your roof and under your supervision, underage drinking is illegal in California.

The minimum drinking age across the United States is 21, but there are some states that allow exceptions to this rule when teens are drinking in the presence of, and with the permission of their parents. Some of those states include Virginia, South Carolina, and New Mexico. California is excluded from this list, meaning that even if a parent gives their 20 year old a sip of their cocktail, they can get in trouble.

In California, supplying a minor with alcohol is most often a misdemeanor offense. Adults who are charged with this misdemeanor will face time in jail, up to 1 year, though it is usually less than 2 months. They will also pay a fine of no more than $5,000, but fines between $500 and $1,000 are more common. There will be a court fee of $100-$200, and they could be placed on probation. Probation requirements would vary; it could be that the person just needs to check in with a probation officer every now and then or they may need to maintain a steady job. If it was a business that supplied alcohol to a minor, that business can lose its alcohol license and they would have additional fees to pay.

If someone is seriously injured or killed as a direct result of underage drinking, then the charges are brought up to a felony offense. In this case, consequences include 1+ years in prison, thousands of dollars in fines, probation, and again, a lost liquor license if applicable.

You cannot expect the court to be forgiving if a parent supplies alcohol to their child. There is just no way of knowing if the judge will be kind or not. Everybody knows the minimum drinking age is 21 and that there are no exceptions to this rule. Due to this law, there is no reason a parent should give alcohol to their underage children.

Bail Amounts on Common Offenses

orange county bail bonds

In order to be released from jail, a person must meet certain “requirements.” This includes:

  • Having not yet been convicted of the crime.
  • Having solid, reliable relationships with others in the community. This shows that the defendant is likely to appear for court and less likely to flee.
  • Not appearing as a threat to the public.
  • Having little to no prior criminal history.
  • Being accused of a crime that is neither serious nor violent.
  • Being granted bail.

How much bail is will really depend on a case by case basis. Understandably, the more serious the crime was, the more expensive the bail will be. Additionally, if the defendant is a repeat offender, they are more likely to have a higher bail than a person who is a first time offender. Bail can range from a few hundred to thousands; in more high profile cases, bail can be hundreds of thousands to millions.

Luckily, the majority of people who are granted bail are not going to face that million dollar price mark. Here are some common crimes and the average bail for the charges:

  • Driving when the license has been suspended or revoked: $1,000+ for a first offense, $5,000+ for repeat offenses.
  • Fleeing the scene of a hit and run, and another person was injured or killed: $10,000+.
  • DUI: $5,000 for a first offense
  • Speeding and racing with other drivers: $10.000+
  • Violating a restraining order: $50,000
  • Possession of illegal drugs: $30,000 if possession is up to 1 kilogram. Bail increases if there are more drugs in possession.
  • Robbery: $50,000+
  • Assault with a deadly weapon: $100,000

To clarify, bail bond companies cannot get the official bail lowered, instead, they provide defendants with payment plans whose payments sum up to 10% of the full bail.

Celebrities Pay for Bail Too

orange county bail bonds

Celebrities are frequently given the red carpet treatment almost anywhere they go, for almost everything they do. They get special VIP access and treatment that the public never gets to experience. For all the glitz and glam, it sure seems beneficial to have a well-known name and face.

Occasionally, celebrities do not get special treatment. In fact, having star-status brings them more attention than they want. For example, being a celebrity and having a run-in with the law. Celebrities do not get away if they break the law. Just like any other person who broke the law, a celebrity must face the same legal proceedings and possible consequences as everyone else. If a celebrity wants to get out of jail for their trial, they must post bail using one of the same methods available to everybody: cash bail or a bail bond. This shows that the law is not too easily forgiving to people with lots of money and fame.

Aaron Hernandez, former New England Patriot
You have probably heard Hernandez’s name in the media over the last couple of years, and even more in recent weeks. Hernandez was indicted in 2012 for murder. Earlier this year, he was acquitted for a second murder charge on a separate case. Just a week after his acquittal, Hernandez committed suicide. Bail was denied for Hernandez.

Marion Hugh “Suge” Knight Jr., former CEO of Death Row Records
Knight’s bail was set at $2 million for his direct involvement of a fatal hit and run.

Lindsay Lohan, actress
Lohan is no stranger to jail. In 2007, her bail was set at $300,000 because of reckless driving, DUIs, theft, and more. With the help of her bail agent, she paid only $75,000 and was released.

Katt Williams, comedian
William’s bail was set at $40,000 in 2011 for burglary. He committed to pay only a portion of it with the help of his bail agent. However, he failed to make good on his payments and so he was arrested again. His second bail, $10,000, was one he had to pay all on his own.

It can be easy to think that posting bail would be no problem for celebrities because they have the funds to pay it without hassle. Yet, even celebrities choose to post bail with a bail bond because it is more affordable overall. As evidenced, some celebrities neglect to keep up with their payments. Celebrities are not perfect, and they definitely do not have it easy. When it comes to dealing with the law, they are just like any other person.

No Exceptions to Underage Drinking

orange county bail bonds

Even if it happens under your roof and under your supervision, underage drinking is illegal in California.

The minimum drinking age across the United States is 21, but there are some states that allow exceptions to this rule when teens are drinking in the presence of, and with the permission of their parents. Some of those states include Virginia, South Carolina, and New Mexico. California is excluded from this list, meaning that even if a parent gives their 20 year old a sip of their cocktail, they can get in trouble.

In California, supplying a minor with alcohol is most often a misdemeanor offense. Adults who are charged with this misdemeanor will face time in jail, up to 1 year, though it is usually less than 2 months. They will also pay a fine of no more than $5,000, but fines between $500 and $1,000 are more common. There will be a court fee of $100-$200, and they could be placed on probation. Probation requirements would vary; it could be that the person just needs to check in with a probation officer every now and then or they may need to maintain a steady job. If it was a business that supplied alcohol to a minor, that business can lose its alcohol license and they would have additional fees to pay.

If someone is seriously injured or killed as a direct result of underage drinking, then the charges are brought up to a felony offense. In this case, consequences include 1+ years in prison, thousands of dollars in fines, probation, and again, a lost liquor license if applicable.

You cannot expect the court to be forgiving if a parent supplies alcohol to their child. There is just no way of knowing if the judge will be kind or not. Everybody knows the minimum drinking age is 21 and that there are no exceptions to this rule. Due to this law, there is no reason a parent should give alcohol to their underage children.

Bail Amounts for Common Offenses

orange county bail bonds

In order to be released from jail, a person must meet certain “requirements.” This includes:

  • Having not yet been convicted of the crime.
  • Having solid, reliable relationships with others in the community. This shows that the defendant is likely to appear for court and less likely to flee.
  • Not appearing as a threat to the public.
  • Having little to no prior criminal history.
  • Being accused of a crime that is neither serious nor violent.
  • Being granted bail.

How much bail is will really depend on a case by case basis. Understandably, the more serious the crime was, the more expensive the bail will be. Additionally, if the defendant is a repeat offender, they are more likely to have a higher bail than a person who is a first time offender. Bail can range from a few hundred to thousands; in more high profile cases, bail can be hundreds of thousands to millions.

Luckily, the majority of people who are granted bail are not going to face that million dollar price mark. Here are some common crimes and the average bail for the charges:

  • Driving when the license has been suspended or revoked: $1,000+ for a first offense, $5,000+ for repeat offenses.
  • Fleeing the scene of a hit and run, and another person was injured or killed: $10,000+.
  • DUI: $5,000 for a first offense
  • Speeding and racing with other drivers: $10.000+
  • Violating a restraining order: $50,000
  • Possession of illegal drugs: $30,000 if possession is up to 1 kilogram. Bail increases if there are more drugs in possession.
  • Robbery: $50,000+
  • Assault with a deadly weapon: $100,000

To clarify, bail bond companies cannot get the official bail lowered, instead, they provide defendants with payment plans whose payments sum up to 10% of the full bail.

Celebrities Have to Pay for Bail Too

orange county bail bonds

Celebrities are frequently given the red carpet treatment almost anywhere they go, for almost everything they do. They get special VIP access and treatment that the public never gets to experience. For all the glitz and glam, it sure seems beneficial to have a well-known name and face.

Occasionally, celebrities do not get special treatment. In fact, having star-status brings them more attention than they want. For example, being a celebrity and having a run-in with the law. Celebrities do not get away if they break the law. Just like any other person who broke the law, a celebrity must face the same legal proceedings and possible consequences as everyone else. If a celebrity wants to get out of jail for their trial, they must post bail using one of the same methods available to everybody: cash bail or a bail bond. This shows that the law is not too easily forgiving to people with lots of money and fame.

Aaron Hernandez, former New England Patriot
You have probably heard Hernandez’s name in the media over the last couple of years, and even more in recent weeks. Hernandez was indicted in 2012 for murder. Earlier this year, he was acquitted for a second murder charge on a separate case. Just a week after his acquittal, Hernandez committed suicide. Bail was denied for Hernandez.

Marion Hugh “Suge” Knight Jr., former CEO of Death Row Records
Knight’s bail was set at $2 million for his direct involvement of a fatal hit and run.

Lindsay Lohan, actress
Lohan is no stranger to jail. In 2007, her bail was set at $300,000 because of reckless driving, DUIs, theft, and more. With the help of her bail agent, she paid only $75,000 and was released.

Katt Williams, comedian
William’s bail was set at $40,000 in 2011 for burglary. He committed to pay only a portion of it with the help of his bail agent. However, he failed to make good on his payments and so he was arrested again. His second bail, $10,000, was one he had to pay all on his own.

It can be easy to think that posting bail would be no problem for celebrities because they have the funds to pay it without hassle. Yet, even celebrities choose to post bail with a bail bond because it is more affordable overall. As evidenced, some celebrities neglect to keep up with their payments. Celebrities are not perfect, and they definitely do not have it easy. When it comes to dealing with the law, they are just like any other person.

About California’s Three Strikes Law

orange county bail bonds

California has a so-called “Three Strikes” law that was introduced in 1994. Think of this like the “three strikes, you are out” mantra that goes with baseball. A player has 3 chances to hit the ball. If they get three strikes, they are out.

This Three Strikes law concerns convicted felons. If the convicted felon is faced with a second, new felony, they are sentenced to twice the prison time than what they would have faced if they were not already a convict. If the felon has two felonies and faces a third conviction, the Three Strikes law kicks in to automatically sentence them to 25 years to life in prison.

Since 1994, the Three Strikes law has been amended multiple times to be as fair as possible. Years before, someone who was convicted of shoplifting could get the same prison sentence a murderer would get. It was this kind of unfairness that needed attention, so the law re-evaluated the types of felonies that would be effected by three strikes. Today, all three felony convictions would need to be serious or violent in order for the Three Strikes law to move into effect.

There is a slim chance that a person being charged for a serious or violent felony will be allowed to post bail, and the chances get even slimmer if they are a repeat offender. Since bail eligibility is partially dependent on the condition of the defendant and the danger they pose to the public, it is unlikely that the judge will grant bail release. If they do, expect bail to be very high and expect there to be extra requirements such as curfew, travel restrictions, and ankle monitoring.

Is Ticket Scalping Legal?

orange county bail bonds

Ticket scalping is when a person resells their ticket to an event, like a concert or a sporting event, to another person. The purchaser does not buy the ticket directly from the event itself, but rather goes to someone who already owns a ticket to the event, but is looking to get rid of it. The price is determined by the individual who is in possession of the ticket, and it is often a bigger price than the face value they purchased it for. This is because they are looking to make a profit from the sale.

In California, ticket scalping is illegal when done on the grounds of the event. This is a misdemeanor charge that carries a fine as high as $1,000.

While that may be illegal, it is legal to purchase resale tickets online from valid ticket websites such as SeatGeek, StubHub, and Ticketmaster. These sites allow people to search for ticket sales to any number of events in their area. The website is required to:

  • Disclose seat locations to the potential buyer before the sale
  • Maintain records of ticket exchanges
  • Disclose service charge
  • Provide refunds if the event is canceled or rescheduled
  • Be licensed by a local government agency to act and operate as a ticket resale site

Purchasing resale tickets through these websites are among the most secure ways to get your tickets. You are not being scammed. In the instance that the event is changed, you will get a refund. You will be provided with official records and receipts. Other sites like Craigslist are less secure and the risk of purchasing fake tickets rises. Once a person learns that their tickets are fake, they have almost zero chance of contacting the person who sold it to them and getting their money back.

Always be cautious of where and how you buy your tickets. In general, you should never trust someone who is trying to sell tickets outside of the event itself, on the day of the event. We said this is illegal, yet people do it anyway. Sometimes security will ask these scalpers to leave the grounds, but some go unnoticed and even make a sale, very likely a sale that produced fake tickets.